Skip to content
First Things First First Things First


The Arizona Early Childhood Development and Health Board consists of nine members appointed by the Governor and approved by the state Senate. The Board is responsible for ensuring that Arizona’s early childhood funds are spent on services that help our state’s young children be healthier and start kindergarten ready to succeed.

Appointed Board Members

Ex-Officio Board Members

Don Herrington

Interim Director, Arizona Department of Health Services
Designee: Patricia Tarango, Bureau Chief

Hon. Kathy Hoffman

Superintendent of Public Instruction, Arizona Department of Education
Designee: Dr. Felicia Durden, Associate Superintendent

Michael Wisehart

Director, Arizona Department of Economic Security
Designee: Lela Wendell, Interim Assistant Director, DES Childcare Administration

Board Representatives

Jami Synder

Director, Arizona Health Care Cost Containment System
Representative: Dr. Eric Tack, Deputy Assistant Director for Managed Care Clinical Compliance

Mike Faust

Director, Arizona Department of Child Safety
Representative: Cynthia Weiss, Director of Communications


By law, members of the Board must be representative of Arizona’s diversity. They must include Republicans and Democrats, as well as residents of both metropolitan and rural areas. All Board members share a deep commitment to expanding opportunities for Arizona’s young kids to succeed in school and in life.

The Directors of the Department of Economic Security, Department of Health Services and the Superintendent of Public Instruction, or their chosen designees, serve as non-voting ex-officio members.

Stay Up To Date.

Join our email list to keep up with the latest news and information from FTF

Send me:

© First Things First. All Rights Reserved. • Privacy PolicyAccessibilityWebsite FeedbackOmbudsman-Citizens Aide